Carver’s Jeremy Johnson voted state’s Mr. Football

MONTGOMERY | Carver-Montgomery’s Jeremy Johnson was named the 31st recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

The annual luncheon was held at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.

Johnson — a 6-foot-6, 219-pound senior quarterback — threw for 3,193 yards this season on 198 of 293 passing with 31 touchdowns and just seven interceptions. Johnson also had 105 carries for 705 yards for seven scores and a 40-yard catch during the season. As a junior, Johnson threw for 2,432 yards as a junior with 24 touchdowns and 14 interceptions.

In the closest final in ASWA history, Johnson finished with 170 points and nine first-place votes in the vote by the ASWA’s prep committee, while Fultondale senior quarterback ArDarius Stewart, an Alabama commitment, was two points back with 168 and received five firsts.

Sophomore running back Kerryon Johnson of Madison Academy was third with 112, Auburn senior linebacker Reuben Foster was fourth with 102 and Madison County senior running back Jordan Chunn was fifth with 97 and one first-place vote.

The closest previous vote came in 2009 when Cherokee County’s Coty Blanchard beat out Demopolis running back DaMarcus James, 165-162.

Johnson was named the ASWA Class 6A Back of the Year and was chosen to the group’s Super 12 team. He participated in the Alabama-Mississippi and U.S. Army All-American all-star games. Johnson is a verbal commitment to Auburn University. He was also an ASWA first-team all-state basketball selection last season in helping the Wolverines to the Class 6A title.

Three West Alabama players — Tuscaloosa Academy teammates Jaevon Walton and Terrell Bush and Fayette County’s JaTevin Madison — were among the finalists.

One winner, AISA Lineman of the Year O.J. Howard of Autauga Academy, is a University of Alabama commitment.





1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor

1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom

1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale

1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood

1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery

1987 Robert Jones, Parker

1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor

1989 Steven Coleman, Pike County

1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin

1991 Robert Davis, Homewood

1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah

1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson

1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley

1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis

1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central

1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria

1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount

1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville

2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah

2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville

2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson

2003 Chris Nickson, Pike County

2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover

2005 Andre Smith, Huffman

2006 Larry Smith, Prattville

2007 Julio Jones, Foley

2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy

2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee County

2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka

2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne

2012 Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery

NOTE: Back/Lineman voting lists top 3 vote-getters only; Super 12/Mr Football voting is top 12 only; 21 players received votes on the ASWA Super 12. Vote totals for the AISA were not available.

Class 1A Back

Rodney Camp, Phillips, 50

George Payne, St. Luke's, 47

Ready Swanigan, Marion County., 46

Class 1A Lineman

Damien Davenport, McIntosh, 49

Taylor Driggers, Brantley, 39

Justin Lucas, Notasulga, 29

Class 2A Back

ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 69

Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian, 41

Tywone Stewart, Reeltown, 40

Class 2A Lineman

Fred Rich, Tanner, 58

DeMarcus Holcombe, Washington Co., 53

Jestavia Norris, Reeltown, 42

Class 3A Back

Courtney Foy, Midfield, 57

Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy, 55

JaTevin Madison, Fayette County, 29

Class 3A Lineman

Torrandine Harris, Midfield, 57

Jamie Major, Piedmont, 45

Jamarious Henderson, Dale County, 34

Class 4A Back

Jordan Chunn, Madison County, 69

Alvin Scott, Oneonta, 48

Toby Pee, Sardis, 43

Class 4A Lineman

Rod Crayton, Dadeville, 65

Blake Bean, Oneonta, 42

Ronnie Clark, Calera, 41

Class 5A Back

Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, 53

Joel Poe, Spanish Fort, 48

Tyler Jackson, Muscle Shoals, 39

Class 5A Lineman

Zach Cunningham, Pinson Valley, 58

Tre Williams, St. Paul's, 54

Jordan Sims, Homewood, 34

Class 6A Back

Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, 65

Racean Thomas, Oxford, 53

Marquez White, Northview, 35

Class 6A Lineman

Reuben Foster, Auburn, 64

Grant Hill, Huntsville, 44

Austin Golson, Prattville, 43


Dylan Ingram, Edgewood Academy

Jarrett Pope, Clarke Prep

Jaevon Walton, Tuscaloosa Academy

AISA Lineman

O.J. Howard, Autauga Academy

Terrell Bush, Tuscaloosa Academy

Cortney Wilbanks, Restoration Academy


Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, 170

ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 168

Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy, 112

Reuben Foster, Auburn, 102

Jordan Chunn, Madison County, 97

Courtney Foy, Midfield, 93

Racean Thomas, Oxford, 87

Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, 60

Rod Crayton, Dadeville, 50

Zac Cunningham, Pinson Valley, 47

Tre Williams, St. Paul's, 39

O.J. Howard, Autauga Academy, 37